Conversations with Clara – Part 2

My room is lit by a single black candle on the altar. Dizzied by mugwort tea, I lay on the floor. Clara glowed eerily in the candlelight.

I feel like I almost had a breakthrough tonight” I began. “For a moment, I saw your edges began to blur, Clara! I started to get some insight! I just think I got too excited.”

No, you didn’t see anything. You’re just high off mugwort” Clara replied. It’s as if I could actually see her blow a smoke ring from her Virginia Slim.

“No, I’m pretty sure I saw the glow of a fire. That’s when I lost focus” I countered, still laying on the floor.

“Oh, you saw the glow of the fire!? You mean…like this fucking candle next to me” Clara spat.

“What do you know? You’re just a hunk of fucking quartz” I fired back as I sat up.

“First of all, I’m a polished hunk of quartz, little boy. Secondly, I’m not going to take you seriously since you are the one arguing with a ‘fucking hunk of quartz.’”

Oh.

Leave a Reply

