My Word for 2017

It’s been a while since I’ve written here, but I’m happy to report that it wasn’t the result of laziness. Not only was the holiday season busy, but I’ve been balancing my new job, the final few classes for my MBA, and leading an online Pagan study group. Needless to say, time has been a precious commodity in my life and sleep became the priority. Now that life has slowed down a bit, I decided to turn attention back to my blog.

In the past year, I feel like I have been completely overwhelmed by my various commitments. My work-life balance is non-existent. To be honest, my personal-life balance is pretty terrible too. I’m finding myself sacrificing sleep and time at home to honor time with my friends. It’s not that I think my friends would be upset if I took a raincheck, I just have a fear of missing out. Although I try to manage my busy schedule, I often find myself anxious, exhausted, and at time, angry.

A few weeks ago, while on a flight back from Chicago, I listened to Joanna DeVoe’s Hippie Witch podcast called “The Magick and Meaning Behind Words.” I’ll link to it below. To summarize the podcast, Joanna discussed how powerful words can be and discussed her practice of choosing a word to work with for the year. By choosing a word, Joanna says that she is able to better match her actions to reach her spiritual and mundane goals.

I decided to try to this out in the new year and chose the word “boundaries.” I want to be able to comfortably say “no” when I want to. I want to keep all facets of my life in balance and find time to recharge. To supplement this practice, I will use the Two of Pentacles and the Temperance Tarot cards in meditation. With this practice, I hope that I will have more down time to keep up with my spiritual pursuits, including this blog.

Take a listen to Joanna’s podcast here and choose a word for yourself. Have a great new year, everyone.

Leave a Reply

