Sidewalk Tarot – A Game of Synchronicity

I’m the dad of my friend group, which is odd because I am one of the few non-parents of the group. Whenever we go out to celebrate a birthday, promotion, or anniversary, I usually am the one that stays sober and takes care of the group. I don’t mind this, usually.

I am fine being the one to make sure that everyone has paid their tab before leaving the bar. I’m okay with apologizing to the Uber driver and tipping a little bit more to apologize for my obnoxious.

However, certain “sometimes friends” of ours can be too much to handle. For example, there is the guy that once got into a fight because he thought he heard (he didn’t) make fun of his girlfriend (which he didn’t have).  Then there’s the guy who once got into a fight for being a jerk to a girl’s father on during her bachelorette party. Then there’s the guy who is more financially limited than the rest of us, but insists that we cater to his expensive tastes when we cover him for food or drinks. One of these guys alone, isn’t all that bad. They are usually tolerable. In fact, I usually enjoy seeing them…one at a time. All three of them together and I need a shot just to handle a conversation with them.

With that being said, one of my best friends is turning 30 this Friday and we’re driving up to Cleveland to celebrate his birthday. Needless to say, the three gentlemen described above, will all be in attendance.  To make matters worse, I will not be the one driving, so I will be without an exit plan.

I definitely want to be there for my best friend, but I’d prefer to get through the weekend without a murder conviction. My friend is celebrating this weekend, as well as next weekend when his sister will be in town, so I can bail on this weekend and will still be able to celebrate with him. With this in mind, I decided to use a synchronicity practice called the Sidewalk Tarot from Sidewalk Oracles by Robert Moss.

Synchronicity is a scenario in which seemingly unrelated events share a common theme. Most magickal practitioners often feel that there is no such thing as coincidence, so they pay special attention to these events in order to understand what the Universe is trying to tell them. The book Sidewalk Oracles is comprised of a series of games to play to invite synchronicity into your life.

To play this game, I started my day with an intention. I asked the Universe and my spirit guides to bring my attention to moments that will provide me with insight into what decision I should make for the weekend.

While driving to work, I drove past a laundry basket on the side of the road. It’s the same one I have and I thought of my cat getting caught underneath it. Later at work, I found an ant stuck in the breakroom sink, clinging to a spoon to avoid the water that was slowly pooling in the sink. As I helped the ant get to safety, I understood the feeling of being stuck in a bad situation. It was exactly what I was afraid of. This should have been the end of it, but I’m stubborn. So, I reset my intention and asked the Universe to show me another sign on the way home from work. I passed by four stranded cars on my way home.

“That’s that” I thought when I pulled into my driveway. It walked into my house, sat down at my desk and began crafting a text to my friend telling him I wasn’t coming this weekend. Before I could hit send, my phone rang. I was a friend I hadn’t seen in months.

“Hey, I just wanted to talk to you about the Tarot deck you posted pictures of on your blog. What deck is that?”

I asked her which one and she referenced the Tarot Meditation post about the Three of Swords, the one where I discussed communication and relationships. I took this as a final sign that before I make a decision, I should discuss my concerns with my friend. I got off the phone with her and immediately deleted the text draft and made plans to discuss the weekend with the birthday boy tomorrow.

Synchronicity is fun.

Leave a Reply

