Tarot Meditation – The Empress: The Power of Creativity

Another card that appeared in my reading is The Empress. In several Tarot decks, the Empress card depicts a woman sitting in a grain field. She is usually seen as pregnant and the symbol of Venus is seen at her feet or behind her. In the Robin Wood deck, the empress is seated before a spinning wheel, depicting both her influence over fate and creativity.

In my reading, I was told that I had let other aspects of my life interfere with my creative endeavors and that in order to improve my situation, I should find a way to express myself creatively. In the past, I spent a lot of time writing or painting. Recently, I would start a painting or a story, get half-way through, and just stop. I didn’t have any motivation to do anything. In the reading, I was told that I was too worried about creating something for an audience, rather than just creating for myself.  This too, rang true. For example, I have spent years working on a tree painting for a friend. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to complete the painting, I was just too busy doing exactly what my friend wanted, leaving no room for my own creativity.

This week, I placed the image of the Empress in my studio and on my desk. When I sat down to work, I would say a quick blessing, asking the powers of creativity to be made available to me. When I got frustrated or felt the urge to give up and start over, I would look at the card and remind myself that I was creating for myself, not for anyone else.

This helped me immensely. I have been able to finish two paintings and three short stories. Sure, they aren’t the best, but the practice has helped me see a project through rather than self-editing during the creative process.

Leave a Reply

