Tarot Meditation – The Three of Swords: Communication & Relationships

20160622_141417-1.jpg
Cards depicted are from: Gypsy Witch, Robin Wood, and Tarot of the Orishas decks

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted. I needed to take a quick break from writing to focus on work, school, and all things available to me during Pride here in Columbus. I recently got a reading from Kelly Ann Maddox, and wanted to work through the insights I received in that reading, rather than read for myself. With this in mind, I’ve been working with the card she drew to dive deeper into their meaning and how I can apply their messages in my life.

The first card that came up in my reading was the Three of Swords. For me, the suit of swords represents the air element, which rules over, among other things, communication. The Three of Swords is commonly depicted as three swords piercing a heart. I usually interpret this to signify a breakdown in relationships caused by a miscommunication of needs, wants, or expectations. As I have previously posted, I have recently experienced a breakdown in certain friendships. Kelly Ann picked up on this in her reading, and mentioned that I am good at helping those around me, but have a hard time asking for help. She stated, rather eloquently, that I needed my friends to keep space for me. This has stuck with me since the reading.

Over the weekend, I lit a few candles on my altar and plucked the Three of Swords from one of my Tarot decks. I meditated on the card and focused on what space I wanted my friends to keep for me. I had a hard time putting what I needed into words, but the element of air as a conduit of communication kept coming to mind. It was then that I realized that I had not effectively communicated my need to my friends. I snuffed the candles and simply sent a simple text to my friends that simply said “I need you guys to keep space for me and to understand that I may have a hard time asking for it.” They responded with more compassion than I expected and again (synchronicity, maybe) emphasized the importance of communication in our relationship.

Since I am a huge fan of the Tarot, I own several Tarot and Oracle decks. Today, I rifled through my decks until I found corresponding cards that didn’t reflect the same imagery. I decided upon the Three of Spades (the Pig) from my Gypsy Witch deck and the Three of Air from my Tarot of the Orishas deck. The Pig symbolizes luck and great abundance. The Three of Air depicts a bird of prey swooping down after its next meal.  This card symbolizes destruction, unseen enemies, and the concept of having power over someone. I noticed that these cards act as extremes when pair with the traditional Three of Swords.

I laid both of these cards on my altar with the Three of Swords. I used them as a focus for mediation on the concept of communication and relationships. I saw myself asking for help when I needed it and, more importantly, accepting help when it is offered. Then I saw myself in the absence of communication. This situation breeds anger, resentment, paranoia, and insecurity. I centered myself and focused on my heart and throat chakras, filling them with light. I grounded and felt more at peace with the situation.

I plan to continue working with these concepts over the next several days, before I move on to another card.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

