X is for Xenomancy

Let me start by saying that X is a terrible letter to base a blog post on. You would not believe how many online encyclopedias I browsed through to find something to write about. With that being said, let’s get on to xenomancy.

I have studied a variety of magical practices, but divination has always been particularly fascinating to me. Tarot has always been my standard go-to, but I’ve dabbled with tea leaf reading, palmistry, and runes. When researching ideas for this blog topic, I found xenomancy. Although I’ve never heard of the practice, I’ve always believed that messages from the Universe can be transmitted in many ways. I’m also very nosey, which makes eavesdropping a daily occurrence for me.

Xenomancy is the practice of divining the future through the observation of strangers. Simply put, by focused intention, you will find yourself observing behaviors or conversations that provide you with insight on your question.

One of my earliest experiences with xenomancy came a year ago. I was doing some writing at Starbucks and was having a hard time focusing. It wasn’t that the couple next to me was particularly loud, I just could pull myself out of their conversation (see the nosey comment above). They were talking about how their company had recently removed a department and what they were going to do if they were affected. At the end of the conversation, they both decided that looking for work outside of the company was best.

Within a week or two, the same situation happened to me. My position at work was eliminated and I was stuck with the choice of either taking a position several rungs lower on the corporate ladder or seeking a job with another company. I fought against my instinct to leave for a new opportunity, but kept coming back to this possibility. When I finally sent out a resume to another company, I was immediately scheduled for an interview and offered a position making more money than I would have in my original position. It wasn’t until later that I remembered my experience at Starbucks and saw that the Universe was sending me a message.

Now whenever I find myself eavesdropping, I ask myself if it’s just my nosiness rearing its ugly head or if it is the Universe sending me a message. What examples do you have with xenomancy?

2 thoughts on “X is for Xenomancy”

  1. Wow this is really something! The universe finds the most interesting ways to send us little clues! I’m a huge fan of divination in the form of Tarot and Runes, but I’ve never tried Xenomancy. I might have to give it a try!

    1. It’s really fun to try! When I first discovered it, I would ask a question I knew I could easily find the answer to. Then I’d go to the mall or grocery store and the results were consistently accurate.

      If you try it, let me know how it goes for you.

Leave a Reply

