U is for the Unknown

    This past Tuesday marked my last day at a company that spent over seven years. I didn’t want to leave, but my other option was to apply and get a lower paying job within the company as a result of my previous position being eliminated. Instead, I chose to send resumes out to any open position for which I was remotely qualified. After several weeks of interviewing and waiting, I finally was offered a dream job with another company. While this was exciting, I am in no way, shape, or form qualified for the position. I have a bachelor’s degree in human resources and over six years of training and development experience, but my role involves sales. The closest to sales experience I have is the two weeks I spent as a telemarketer when I was nineteen. I’m beginning to feel that pursing another career might be a mistake.

    I was an expert in my previous role and now I’m starting new with another company. I’m not sure if I will be successful. I shared these feelings with my sister. She didn’t say much, but what she said was profound. She said, “When Da Vinci painted the Last Supper, do you think he ever thought about painting it over the Mona Lisa?”

    I created all the success I could with my previous employer. While I’m proud of that success, there is no way I could experience that again without starting from the beginning again. Instead, I am going to continue my career path with a new company. It will be an adventure and I’m going to kill it.

    

Leave a Reply

