The Wheel of the Year: Beltane (May 1)

    In many traditions, Beltane marks the first stirrings of summer. The weather has finally warmed, flowers are blooming, the birds are back in full force, and nature comes to life before our eyes. For many Witches, Beltane is second in terms of celebration only to Samhain in October. In fact, Beltane falls directly opposite on the Wheel of the Year from Samhain. With this in mind, since Samhain is the festival of the dead, Beltane is often celebrated as the festival of life.

    The primary theme that I acknowledge in my personal practice is the idea of life’s potential. This year, this theme resonates very strongly with me. As I have stated in previous blog posts, I recently experienced a setback with my job. Even though I worked hard to try to stay at my current employer, I also began to send out resumes in hopes of landing another opportunity. I went on a lot of interviews, but heard nothing back. During meditation, I visualized myself as the proverbial seed. I contained so much potential, but lacked an environment that would provide me with the opportunity to blossom. Two days prior to Beltane, I finally received the news I was waiting for. I was offered an amazing position with an equally amazing company. In thanks, I harvested the first snippets of flowers from my garden and left them on my altar as an offering of thanks for the God and Goddess providing me with such a great gift.

    Since I had to work on the sabbat, I did not get a chance to really celebrate. However, I did spend time in silent reflection in my garden in order to enjoy the first days of warm weather. I plan to celebrate tonight’s full moon as an extension of Beltane, but I will post more on that tomorrow.

The sacred Beltane fires burn,

The Great Wheel of Life again has turned

Leave a Reply

