Q is for Questions

As a Pagan, I get asked a lot of questions. Over the years, I have stopped being defensive about them and began to use these questions as a way to educate the ignorant and to deepen my faith. Below are a few of the questions, as well as my answers, that I tend to get the most.

 

  1. How do you know the God and Goddess of Wicca actually exist?
    1. I know they exist the exact same way any adherent of any faith know there Gods exist; faith. Whether I am simply praying or performing a ritual, I feel a deep reassurance that my words are being heard and that I am being guided. Honestly, at the end of the day, even if my Gods don’t exist, my faith in them makes me a kinder, gentler human being and I don’t see any harm in that.
  2. Don’t you feel it is wrong that you cater your religion to your own desires?
    1. I think this needs clarification. I practice my spirituality within the confines of a Wiccan construct. With that in mind, I don’t cater my religion to my desires per se. For example, I meditate and pray daily, I celebrate the cycles of the moon and the seasons of the Earth. I adhere to the threefold law and the Rede. With that in mind, it is still possible to be creative in your practice. It is the same way that most Church groups use theatrical dramas around the holidays. In regards to desires, many non-magical practioners think of desires to mean things such as absolute power, riches, and the destruction of our enemies. In reality, my desires are enough money to take care of my responsibilities, long lasting friendships, and a full life.
  3. How do candles and daggers cause magic to affect nature?
    1. How does bread and wine become the Body and Blood of Christ? How does water baptize someone? It has nothing to do with tools, it is about intent and spiritual connection. By setting a clear intention and propelling that intention into the Universe with natural energies, change will occur in conformity with your will.
  4. How do you know that your magic isn’t fueled by something evil?
    1. I know that my magic isn’t fueled by something evil because I am not evil and neither is nature. My magic is fueled by my intention and supported by my energy and the energy of the natural world.
  5. What if you’re wrong?
    1. Even if my beliefs end up not being the “right choice,” I will rest comfortably because I am a gentle, kind, and responsible human being. I strive to make the world a better place, and when I can’t, I at least do not make it any worse. I think any higher being would respect and reward that.
Leave a Reply

