P is for Protection

    I recently spent a week in Mexico City for work. Since I travel a lot, I tend to travel with items to create a makeshift altar in my hotel room. I’m usually very cautious at flaunting my religious affiliation in heavily Christian areas. I don’t wear a pentacle, I don’t leave my altar set up when I leave the room, and I tend to use Virgin Mary imagery as opposed to my traditional Goddess imagery. However, in Mexico City, I slipped up.

    My first morning before work, I opened the curtains of my east-facing window. I set up a small altar with a quartz crystal, a glass of water, and my prayer beads (adorned with a small pentacle charm). I did a solar meditation and a blessing for the day. I was so into what I was doing, I lost track of time. I rushed to get ready for work and forgot to put the “Do Not Disturb” sign on my door.

    When I returned home, I started to clean up my ritual area. I quickly noticed that my prayer beads were broken. There were beads all over the table and the pentacle charm was nowhere to be found. I didn’t think much of it and put everything back in my suitcase. That night when I went to sleep, I woke up almost every hour to violent nightmares. When I awoke, I felt like there was someone in the room with me and struggled to relax enough to fall back asleep. This continued for a few nights.

    While getting ready for work on Wednesday, I noticed that a t-shirt and a pair of socks were missing from my luggage. I immediately assessed the situation and thought of the possibility of my housekeepers breaking the prayer beads and stealing my clothing. Did she practice magic? Did she see my altar as something negative? I put it out of my mind until I returned home that night.

    Upon my arrival back home, I mixed some salt water in a glass and sprinkled it around the room. I then drew a warm bath and mixed the remaining salt water in the tub. I soaked for about an hour. When I drained the bath tub, I visualized all the negativity leaving the room. I then traced banishing pentacles on each of the windows and doors in the room. Finally, I placed the “Do Not Disturb” sign on my door and vowed it would stay there for the remainder of my trip. I’m happy to report that I didn’t have any issues sleeping for the rest of my stay in Mexico City.

Leave a Reply

