M is Monument

 

Travel and work have been kicking my ass recently, so I have not kept up with this year of blogging the why that I hoped to. While mindless web surfing last night, I came across the Temple of Satan’s website.

Before I continue, let me give a disclaimer. I don’t consider myself a Wiccan anymore than I consider myself a Satanist. However, I do enjoy the Satan as Prometheus ideal that Satanists promote, just as I consider the Wiccan framework to be useful in my spirituality. In addition to this, most Satanists hold true to a belief in radical self interest and taking responsibility for one’s actions. This resonates with my beliefs just as much as the Wiccan Rede of “harm none” does. Now that the disclaimer is done, let’s move on.

The Temple of Satan, like most atheistic Satanic organization, uses Satan as a metaphor for their approach to life. Among their tenets is compassionate living, respect for others freedoms, and that belief should conform to our scientific understanding of the world. This sparked my interest so I read further. I was very surprised to see that they were involved in a number of political/social campaigns.

The Temple support same-sex marriage, woman’s health issues, and abolishing corporal punishment in schools. They even are attempting to adopt a highway. I’ve never seen a Satanic group be interested in this type of outreach. The campaign that further interested me is their campaign to erect a statue of Baphomet in Oklahoma City next to a monument of the Ten Commandments.

As the ACLU is currently in suit for the 10 Commandments monument to be removed, the Satanic Temple is proposing that the statue stay if the Temple is allowed to erect their statue. If the statue is permitted, this would be a huge win for religious freedom, and pave the way for other religious groups to have their beliefs memorialized as well.

To learn more about the Satanic Temple, their current campaigns, and to donate, check out their website at thesatanictemple.com

Leave a Reply

