L is for Lilith

Ever since I read Her myth, Lilith has been my patron. For me, She is the Goddess of independence, freedom, magic, and strength. Not only is She a Patroness of Witches, but she is the Patroness of Badassery. When life knocks me down, I hear Her voice say “He hits like a bitch, doesn’t he?” When someone tries to start trouble with me I hear Her familiar chuckle as she says “I wish a motherfucker would…” When I am feeling down, she reminds me of the magic of laughter. When I call upon her during spell work, She will remind me to ask for the perfect solution, rather than a suitable one.

In my practice, Lilith has some nontraditional offerings. She loves the smell of cloves, especially in the form of Djarum Black clove cigarettes. She loves red wine, but vodka works in a pinch, as does any dark liquor. Instead of chants, she would much rather I sing her the songs of Garbage and Porcelain Black.

Below is a piece that I call the Charge of Lilith. It is adapted from the Charge of the Dark Goddess (you can find many of these works through a Google search) and the Charge of the God by AJ Drew.

 

The Charge of Lilith

Hear me child, and know Me.

I have been with you since you were born, and I will stay with you until you return to Me at the final dusk.

I am the passionate and seductive lover who inspires the poet to dream. After the day is done, My children find their blessed rest in my embrace.

I am the Queen of Magick, hidden in the deepest night.

I am the mystery of the other world and the fear that coils about your heart in the times of your trial. 

I am the soul of nature that gives form to the Universe.

I am the womb from which all things are born.

I am the shadowy, still tomb; all things must come to Me and bare their breasts to die and be reborn to the Whole.

I am the Sorceress that will not be ruled,

the Weaver of Time, the Teacher of Mysteries.

I snip the threads that bring my children home to me.

I slit the throats of the cruel and drink the blood of the heartless.

Swallow your fear and come to me, and you will discover true beauty, strength, and courage.

For my law screams one is not free while others remain enslaved.

There shall you assemble, you who have not yet won My deepest strength, but who are brave enough to seek it.

To these shall I teach that which is yet unknown.

You shall be free from slavery, and as a sign that you be truly free you will free those still enslaved.

You who seek to remove My veil and know My true face,
Know that all your questing and efforts are for not,
Until thy own face beholds and knows the mysteries of they own self.
For you to truly know Me, you must look in your own heart
and know and accept thy self.

For those of you who call upon Me
and My powers for magick, beware!
For My magaick is swift and without regards to the consequences.

When you are frightened, throw back your head and laugh in the face of fear, I shall strengthen you

When you feel pain, offer it to me and I will subdue it.

When you feel pleasure, offer it to me and I will intensify it.

For it is My dark cloak of protection that is wrapped about you.
Close your eyes My child and call to me, for I am there,
within your Darkness.

Leave a Reply

