C is for Curse

“If you cannot hex, you cannot heal.  If you cannot curse, you cannot cure.” – Z. Budapest

This quote has been on my mind lately as I have been reviewing the ethics of my personal practice. As I am not for all intents and purposes a Wiccan, but rather a Witch, the Wiccan Rede, while meaning a lot to me, is rather a helpful suggestion than a strict law.

Live and let live is typically my approach to life. I seek to have a peaceful life, and want others to find that as well. However, others are not so agreeable with this sentiment. I try to look at my magical ethics, as I would my everyday ethics. For example, if someone spread a hurtful rumor about me, I would probably confront them and have a conversation, rather than punching them in the face. Any magic that was worked in this situation should follow suit. On the other hand, if someone broke into my house and threatened violence against me, I would not hesitate to grab my gun, stand my ground, and fire a few rounds into their face if need be. I guess the point I am trying to make is that I won’t do anything on the astral that I wouldn’t be willing to do the equivalent of on the physical.

I think that magic mirrors Nature. Sometimes the rain is gentle and nourishes the land. Other times, it’s a hurricane that destroys everything in its path. With that in mind, I look at hexes to be an ugly, but sometimes necessary part of life. There are times when turning the other cheek doesn’t work. I also think that as magical practitioners, we are kind of disrespecting the power of magic by letting ourselves be victimized. Going back to the gun example, my brother bought me a gun when I moved to a smaller town with a history of religious intolerance. He taught me how to operate the gun safely and how to care for it. If I didn’t use this knowledge if I was put in a position where my life depended on it, it was be a slight towards the care and concern my brother showed when he taught me. I think the Goddess would feel the same.

I am not condoning hexing whenever someone slights you, just to be clear. I just believe that as a magical practitioner, the idea of curses should be one that is considered under extreme circumstances and above all we should use our talents to prevent ourselves from being victimized.

In her blog, Aepril Schaile tackles the concept very eloquently. She says,

“A Witch who is worth her salt must be able to travel into the Underworld and deal with the Shades and Shadows who live there…Part of the job of the Queen of Darkness is the ability to curse. It’s just a part of the deal. We must have the balls to use this power sometimes. Not a lot. Not every time someone gives us a hard time. But when it counts, we need to know what we are doing. And we can’t be guilty or ashamed about it. It needs to be owned.”

You can find her blog post here – http://www.aeprilsastrology.com/2012/04/witch-who-cannot-hex-cannot-heal.html

1 thought on “C is for Curse”

Leave a Reply

