S is for Setbacks and Sacred Promises

In an attempt to make a long story short, I was recently demoted at work. Demoted, might be the wrong word. My position was eliminated and I have been turned down from the two positions of equal standing within the company. Now, I have sixty days to find a new position, otherwise my employment will be terminated. I’ve busted my ass at work for the past seven years and dealing with this was frustrating to say the least.

Last night, after having several drinks in an attempt to numb the anger, I was sitting outside waiting for my dog to do her business. I noticed the full moon in the sky. Ok, so technically it was a waning moon, but it was full enough. I immediately felt the urge to cast a circle and light some candles, but I ignored it. I didn’t want to be spiritual and trusting. I was just fine being bitter and angry.

That’s when I heard it. That small grumpy voice in my head said “Whenever you have need of anything, once in the month, and better it be when the moon is full, gather in some secret place and adore the spirit of Me who is Queen of all Witches.”

I felt myself relax, but immediately I said, aloud this time, “No dice, Goddess. I’m perfectly fine with my bitterness at the moment.”

Not having time for my childish pouting, the inner voice said “I, who am the beauty of the green earth, and the white moon among the stars, and the mysteries of the waters, call unto your soul, arise and come unto me.”

Again, since I’m stubborn, I ignored it. I called my dog and we went inside to watch TV. For the next several hours, I gave no thought to the message I received outside. I took a shower, brushed my teeth, and headed to bed. While plugging in my phone, I noticed I had a text message from a friend.

Now, I use the term “friend” very lightly. I haven’t seen this man in well over a year. Although we got along, we seldom agreed on anything. Add to this the fact that he is a born again Christian and you’ll understand my hesitance to open the message.

When I opened the message, all it said was “Jeremiah 29:11. I just think you need this right now.”

I googled the verse apprehensively, preparing myself to get into a heated argument. Then I read the first search result.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”

I immediately got out of bed and lit a candle on my altar. I didn’t ask for anything, I just lit the candle in gratitude of the message (and of the Universe’s patience with me). I’m now extremely confident that everything happens for a reason and that despite the setback at work, something amazing is going to come along.

Leave a comment